More en Pointe (pun)

*Sorry, for some reason the videos are uploaded and will play on youtube, but when I paste the links into this post, they will not play.  Standby and I’ll try to figure it out.*

The pointe obsession continues…

Here’s a little video showing what makes pointe shoes so comfortable. Seriously, without all of these elements, they are not comfortable. With proper alignment and spacing, I promise, pointe shoes are hardly painful at all! Pardon the mess in the background. In the middle of furniture transition.

Here’s some examples of most of the pointe work I’ve done under teacher supervision. Though already I peeked at this video and saw my ankles bowing out a bit when I was up on full pointe–oops. It is tricky to think about making up a combination and talking and being aware of the camera and also focus on technique. When I talked about the bourrees at the end, I meant to say that they are easy to do but look cool, not that they look easy. Although maybe they do, I don’t know.

Anyway, hope you all enjoy.

Categories: Ballet, Uncategorized | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “More en Pointe (pun)

  1. So many memories! I’m loving these videos.

    1) You’re right, Ouch Pouches are AMAZING! I remember keeping them well-stocked and even had one pair left over at the end of my dancing days. I was sad to let such a precious thing go to waste, but I gave them to Amanda in the end.

    2) Lamb’s wool. That is a reallllllllllly old memory for me, because it’s the original thing we used for padding when we went on pointe. It’s classic. But then I gave up using it when I discovered ouch pouches because the lambs wool (when used for padding on the tips of your toes, anyway) always got bunched up and flat and uncomfortable. I’m always impressed and slightly incredulous when I read about dancers who use nothing in their shoes. And I’m intrigued by your use of it, wrapped around your toes.

    3) You did that in 5 minutes! I remember our teacher encouraging / threatening us to keep it under five minutes

    Also, I like the ballet music on in the background. 🙂

    • Ooh, that would be rough to only have lamb’s wool for padding. Ouch pouches are so thin and not really that squishy so I don’t know why they work so well but they do! Yeah, the lady that does the pointe shoe fittings for most of the girls in the studio likes to use lamb’s wool for spacing and padding the toes. Works pretty well. The music is from Swan Lake. I’ve been listening to it and watching youtube versions a lot since we are doing Swan Lake for our recital this year. 😀

  2. Anonymous

    Again, love these videos. What brand of point shoes are you wearing?

    • Thank you, I’m glad you like them! My shoes are Bloch Bmorph. They are my first pair, not sure if I’ll go for them again for my second pair or not. Apparently my feet are so wide that Capezio, a popular choice, doesn’t make at width to accommodate them, but Bloch makes a couple width sizes wider than mine.

  3. Very Informative! Thanks!

  4. This was very cool to see, Tara! You look so elegant in your pointe shoes! And it was very educational to see what goes into putting them on. Oh, one question I had—what is the difference between an eleve and a releve (sorry—I don’t know how to make the little marks over the “e”s). Are those two different things or did I just hear you incorrectly in the video?

    • Thank you 🙂 Yes, that’s a very good question: eleve means “to lift” so releve means “lift again” (more or less), An eleve is rising onto demi or full pointe from flat, and releve is rising onto demi or full pointe from a plie. Sort of rising from the plie and rising onto demi or full pointe at the same time. That’s a common explanation, I’m sure there are some more technical definitions and differences!

  5. Can you believe I’ve never known the difference between releve and eleve? Maybe it was just my poor hearing, or maybe my teachers never distinguished between them. Both are possible. All my dancing life I had only heard “passe” but then along came a teacher who liked to use the term “retiré” in certain cases (and I don’t even remember which ones). Anyway, cool!

    • That does surprise me a little bit! Seems like my teachers ask us to differentiate between the two all the time. I also had one teacher say that for eleve you just lift the heels and for releve you lift the heels but also scooch the feet in closer together. ? Also, teachers will use releve to refer to moves that you do on pointe or demi-pointe, whether or not you’re starting in a plie or moving your feet together, like developpes on releve. Who knows? And yeah, I have no idea about passe and retire; I’m sure there’s a difference but they’re used so interchangeably!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

