San Diego Part 3

We left Saturday open to just walk around downtown and the Gas Lamp District (Historical–although I always kind of chuckle when something is referred to as “historical” in the west because it’s usually not much more than 100 years old, 150 tops, and then one day you go east or to Europe or something) and check out some beaches.  Incidentally, it so happened that the San Diego Padres were having a Fanfest day that day, and even though we could not care less about the Padres, or really any AL team, it was free and we thought it would be fun to check out their clubhouse and walk around on the field and stuff.

IMG_0312

IMG_0311

IMG_0300Then we happened upon this Chinese New Year street festival and saw these “lions”.  Apparently they do their dance and people put money in their mouths.

Then we decided to drive out to this nice little island, Coronado, and hung out on the beach and admired this nice hotel out there, Hotel Del Coronado, pictured in the background.

IMG_0310

IMG_0309Then we drove up to La Jolla to check out the scene there.  Very nice foamy waves.

IMG_0308And then we went back to Coronado to watch the sunset before dinner:

IMG_0303And so concludes the chronicles of our San Diego trip!

Also, wanted to share a fun little sewing project that I made for some Christmas gifts.  I saw these pillows in Bed Bath and Beyond and loved the design but not the filling and I thought I could probably make them, so I gave it a go and it was pretty easy!  I had a hard time finding a good choice for the flower centers and I don’t quite like the shape of my petals as much and I’m not totally sure I correctly installed the zippers but I thought they turned out pretty well!

IMG_0280IMG_0285

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “San Diego Part 3

  1. Emily

    I loved all three vacation posts!! It looks like you both had a blast. Thanks for sharing all the photos & the videos. I think my favorite was the sea lion carrying the ball on his nose. Amazing!!

  2. CO Mom

    I like your panoramic shots. Thanks for sharing all of these!

  3. Nice pillow – zippers are tricky! I bet it took you hours to build that sand castle?! 🙂

  4. This looks like it was such a fun trip! The Chinese New Year lion is cool. I remember when we lived in CA as kids, I think our school did a Chinese New Year celebration with a big dragon puppet thing. And, that pillow is an amazing likeness of the BB&B one! Nice job! And I am very impressed that you sewed zippers. I’ve made all my decorative pillow covers with an overlapping envelope style back. 🙂

    • I have also sewed a few pillow covers with an overlapping closure and one with a buttoned envelope closure and I was a little afraid to try zippers but I think the trickiest part was the instructions, which I don’t think I entirely followed because they didn’t seem to make sense for my project, I think they’re written for installing a zipper in a dress or skirt. So I’m not sure I installed them technically correctly but they are functional and I liked the way they looked!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

