Miscellaneous

Here are a few photos from recent events:

1.  Caleb’s “fini flight” downrange, possibly the last flight in this plane ever, depending on how much longer we’re here and if they have some lines for him here.  I’m not sure what the history is, but fini flights are traditionally marked by dousing the pilot with water.  Usually there’s a hose but they had to make do with water bottles.  You may remember that there’s a similar tradition following a pilot’s solo flight where they grab him and throw him into a tank of water, “to rinse off any bodily fluids that may have emerged from nerves or the rigors of flying.”  So maybe the fini flight dousing started as a remembrance of the solo bath?  I’m not sure, but I love all these little traditions that get passed down and observed.  Particularly I like being an observer.  Being fully dressed and soaking wet is not my idea of comfortable.  Some stats for y’all: in 13 months of deployment, over the past 22 months, Caleb flew 252 combat missions(flights in a combat zone) for 1250 combat hours.  He’s also flown many training missions and hours.  I’m very proud of all his hard work and commitment to excellence in a less than mentally stimulating environment.  🙂

DSCF4087

I seem to have this knack for thinking up little projects that I think will be incredibly simple and fun and turn out to be quite challenging.  As I’ve probably mentioned to many of you, I didn’t care to heavily document my bodily changes over the past several months, as I generally already find it awkward to discuss my body and listen to people’s observations all. the. time.  Mostly I am referring to the people I don’t know that well or don’t know at all who have seen me at church, the grocery store, the salon, the mall, etc. and not family and friends.  I just don’t understand the fascination, and I think it’s such a double standard that I guess is part of pregnancy.  At no other time is it socially acceptable to go around exclaiming over changes in people’s bodies and offering opinions about them being bigger or smaller than you think they should be.  Anyway, I thought it might still be neat to document the changes in a tasteful arty sort of way with our fancy schmancy camera.  It was harder than I thought it would be, finding the time and the lighting and the settings and positioning and the editing to more or less achieve the desired result, but I learned a lot and I think got better as time went on.  “Things started primitively”(Sandlot) with thinking I could achieve a silhouette with the sun behind a gray curtain, and using this as a tripod for the first five shots:

IMG_0337

Without further ado, I give you: Maternity Collage.

Maternity-Collage

Lastly, my personal favorite: Homecoming #3:

Homecoming#3

We are so so grateful to have Caleb home safe and sound and have some time together with just the two of us.  Thank you all for your prayers and love and support.

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Miscellaneous

  1. Mom

    thanks for posting these! it’s good to see you both looking so well, and baby boy Becker growing right along. can’t wait to see who’s in there! I’m glad you included the image of your makeshift tripod. hilarious!

  2. The pregnancy photo collage is lovely I think! I find it uncomfortable to see women’s pregnancy photos that pretty much bare all!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

