House Tour Part 2: Interior

Warning:  this post will be lengthy and not for the faint of heart.

I’ve put this off for far too long…I kept waiting for everything to be done but at some point I realized that we are the type of people who will constantly be tweaking and improving and changing things in here, so we’re just going to go with what we’ve got.  Already, going back through some of these pictures, I realized I took them before we did this or that and didn’t take more after pictures.  Oops.

I’m including paint color names, not because I think you all will want to run out and paint your houses the same colors, but as sort of a pay it forward thing since I spent a lot of time Googling prospective paint color names and looking at blogs to see pictures of the colors in real life.  I find this method easier, less expensive, and more accurate than looking at paint chips, or even painting samples, cause a room looks different with a square of color on it than it will when it’s covered in a color.

We’re incredibly fortunate the previous owners had most of the major renovations completed, or almost completed, before we moved in, but we’ve still been working really hard on about a million little projects, which I’ll try to remember as I look through each picture.  Throughout the house, we replaced the old wooden painted-shut windows, installed or replaced door jambs, installed new electrical outlets, and cleaned and cleaned and cleaned.  All the before pictures are from the realtor.com listing.  

We’ve hit yet more snags in our great Project Laundry Room, our never-ending renovation.  I read somewhere not long ago that home renovations take twice as long and cost twice as much as you figure and it’s totally true!!  Thankfully it’s fully operational, and nearing completion.

Categories: Uncategorized | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “House Tour Part 2: Interior

  1. Tara, you and Caleb are so inspiring!!! I LOVE before and after pictures, ….and I only hope that my first house will be half as lovely as yours. 🙂

    Love,
    Julie

    • Thanks, Julie; that’s very sweet! I’m sure your home will be lovely and to be fair, this is our third home and we’ve learned a lot along the way 🙂

  2. Anonymous

    Therese, I believe all the hard work you and Caleb have done has paid off big time. Your rooms are beautiful! It is unbelievable how much you have accomplished in such a short time.

  3. How many windows did you replace? that’s major! I really like all your colorful area rugs. They add so much and I like that you can take them with you to the next house. 🙂

    • We did five large, three small, and a sliding glass door! It was pretty costly but we’re hoping having functional, energy efficient windows will be attractive to prospective buyers! Yes, I often comfort myself when bemoaning the cost of all these improvements that at least some of these purchases will come with us when we go, like the rugs 🙂

  4. House envy!!! Very nice work, you guys.

  5. Mary/Mom

    I also marvel at all the beautiful improvements you have managed to make (with a baby!) in such a short time. And I love all the curtains you made -in the living room, dining room, play room, kitchen, bathrooms, and bedrooms! Good job Caleb and Tara. Looking forward to see the finished laundry area:)

  6. Wonderful work, Caleb and Tara! I loved seeing the befores and afters. It is so much more cheery and airy looking now! You’ve done a great job!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

